WHEREAS, the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Charlotte opened its doors in 1946 as the Charlotte Center of the University of North Carolina, serving World War II veterans going to college, funded by a City and then a County tax; and

WHEREAS, with the support of local and regional business leaders and a donation from the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners, the college acquired land on what would become the 1,000-acre campus and facilities were built with the passage of bonds by Mecklenburg County voters. Charlotte College opened on this site in 1961 and in 1964, became a four-year degree granting, state supported institution. In 1965, the North Carolina General Assembly voted to make Charlotte College the fourth campus of the UNC system and the UNC Board of Governors approved programs leading to master's degrees in 1969, authorizing UNC Charlotte to offer doctoral programs in 1992; and

WHEREAS, public-private university partnerships have been the hallmark of the university's 75 year history with successful and bold initiatives being accomplished through collaborative leadership, including the extension of the Lynx light rail to campus and a comprehensive City, County, State and University partnership for the Center City Campus, now known as the Dubois Center and the investment in the new conference center; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the University is to provide quality educational opportunities, strengthen the region through research and discovery, and lead in equity and engagement. With more than 165,200 degrees awarded, a student body that has grown to more than 30,000 students and over 3,700 talented faculty and dedicated staff, the University is driving economic growth, opportunity and success; and

WHEREAS, in the 75 year history of the University, five leaders have made their mark with strong civic and business engagement and visionary leadership to build what is today a nationally recognized public research university founded by Bonnie Cone, led by Dean Colvard into university status, propelled into graduate education by E.K. Fretwell, advanced into doctoral programs by James H. Woodward, significant student growth and launching Division 1 football by Philip L. Dubois, and shaping what's next for the University's future by Sharon L. Gaber:

NOW, THEREFORE, WE, Vi Alexander Lyles, Mayor of Charlotte, and George R. Dunlap, Chair of the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners, do hereby proclaim September 24, 2021 as

"UNC CHARLOTTE DAY"

in recognition of the 75th anniversary of our region's university.

WITNESS OUR HANDS and the official Seals of the City of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.

Vi Alexander Lyles Mayor City of Charlotte

<u>Heorge R. Durlep</u> George R. Dunlap, Chair

George R. Dunlap, Chair Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners